I don't know if you can call three years an era, but it appears that Alex Smith's tenure as a 49er is over. I was never happy about the Niners drafting ANY quarterback with a number one pick since so many QB's drafted at no. 1 flame out. But I don't think Smith got a realistic opportunity to be successful with the Niners.
First, he was thrown in the fire with no quality receivers to throw to, a weak running game and very poor pass protection. It's kind of hard to throw down field while lying on your back. His second season brought on a new offensive coordinator and scheme along with poor receivers and pass blocking. His third season? See season two. This season he was faced with yet ANOTHER offensive coordinator and scheme. On top of that he now had to compete for the starting job. He fared poorly all around and now he's injured and out for the season.
So the Niners basically wasted a number one pick on a quarterback that never had a chance to succeed. This is why the team sucks and will continue to suck. My only solace is that the Raiders may be worse than the Niners this season.
No comments:
Post a Comment