Monday, February 05, 2007

Stupor Bowl II

I do like being right. On the other hand I didn't really make a pick, but I was happy to see the Colts top the Bears. Grossman had the worst day with the fumble and interceptions, while Manning did pretty good once he got over the interception.

Despite the sloppiness, the game was OK. It stayed close until the fourth quarter. And the weather induced turnovers certainly made each possession interesting, but it won't rank among the best. One redeeming quality this Super Bowl did have was that the game was more entertaining than the commercials.

During many of the blowouts in the past, the ads tended to be the most entertaining aspect of the broadcast. Not so this year. None of the ads struck me as particularly clever, funny or entertaining. Some were just plain stupid and a waste of money.

The biggest loser had to be Coca Cola. Not one of their ads had any spark. Budweiser usually has pretty good ads as well, but only one got a good laugh, the others were just eh. The salesgenie.com ad was the worst. If you own stock in that company, sell now before you take a bath. They just spent $2.6 million to air a late-night TV ad during the Super Bowl. Do you really think they have a chance with that kind of marketing behind them?

No comments: